Arkansas City Clerks, Recorders, and Treasurers Association (ACCRTA) Executive Board Meeting Virtual Meeting by Zoom September 13, 2021

Executive Board Members

The following executive board members were present:

President Dena Malone - Clinton Recorder/Treasurer Vice-President Andrea Williams – Paragould City Clerk Treasurer Tina Timmons – Maumelle City Clerk/Treasurer Secretary Heather McVay - El Dorado City Clerk Immediate Past President Denise Johnston - Batesville City Clerk/Treasurer Past President Diane Whitbey - North Little Rock City Clerk/Treasurer Past President Barbara Blackard - Clarksville City Clerk/Treasurer Past President Sherri Gard – Fort Smith City Clerk/Treasurer Past President Donna Jones – DeQueen City Clerk/Treasurer District 3 Director Sharla Derry – Greenwood City Clerk/Treasurer

Other Virtual Attendees Present

Donna Smith - Batesville Deputy City Clerk Elishia Duncan – Clinton Deputy City Clerk Kim Jones – Institute Director

Call to Order

President Dena Malone called the Zoom meeting to order at 9:02 a.m.

Approval of Minutes

President Malone presented the minutes from the meeting held on September 25, 2020 that were prepared by the previous secretary, Tina Timmons. Diane Whitbey noted the following corrections to the minutes:

- Under Attendees Donna White should be Donna Smith. The spelling of Batesville should be corrected.
- Under Budget Discussion Take the extra "0" off of the amount of \$12,720.00.
- Under New Clerk Orientation Expenses Take the extra "e" out of Dena's name.
- Under District Workshops Fix the spacing issues.

Tina Timmons made a motion to pass the minutes as corrected. Barbara Blackard seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

2022 IIMC Conference

Diane Whitbey stated that we are hosting the 2022 IIMC Conference in Little Rock on May 22-25, 2022. Whitbey noted that we are currently working on getting our sponsors lined out and reviewed the ones who have committed to sponsorships and/or in-kind services. Whitbey said that Sherri Gard is going to be the Fundraising Chair and will be working closely with her and Barbara Blackard. Whitbey explained that any money that they raise, and don't use, will go back to the association.

2021-2022 Budget Discussion

President Malone reviewed the proposed 2021-2022 Budget.

President Malone noted the following changes under Revenue:

- Fundraising (Shift to 2022 Conference) \$2,500.00 to \$5,000.00
- Membership Dues \$10,000.00 to \$11,500.00
- Scholarships (Laserfiche) \$0.00 to \$500.00

President Malone noted the following changes under Expenditures:

- Clerk of the Year \$200.00 to \$100.00
- Hog Necklaces (10 years Institute) \$900.00 to \$1,000.00
- U of A Institute Conference Scholarships \$1,750.00 to \$2,500.00
- Institute Speaker Expense \$1,225.00 to \$1,000.00
- Pins \$500.00 to \$1,000.00 (Discussed having a new custom made pin created for the IIMC Conference)
- Plaques and Awards \$200.00 to \$250.00
- President's Gift Card \$200.00 to \$100.00
- Website \$200.00 to \$300.00

President Malone noted that the changes would bring the Expenditures to \$17,450.00 and they would need to put \$230.00 in Reserves to make it balance. Diane Whitbey made a motion to approve the 2021-2022 Budget. Barbara Blackard seconded the motion. The motion carried unanimously.

Municipal Clerk's Institute

Institute Director Kim Jones noted that she is waiting to hear back from Mark Hayes at ARML to confirm his speaking slot time. Whitbey suggested picking the time for him. Jones suggested giving him the 10:30 a.m. slot on the 22nd of September.

President Malone stated that she was contacted by Dorothy Johnson from Birdsong and asked if they could only do the Academy portion of Institute because they are all volunteers. Malone, Jones and Whitbey all agreed that they could not just attend Academy and needed to sign up for the entire Institute and just attend what classes they can.

Committee Appointments

President Malone presented the following for the 2021-2022 ACCRTA Committees:

2021-2022 ACCRTA COMMITTEES

Audit Committee – Becky Walker, Chair; Elishia Duncan; Stacey Bennett Clerk of the Year – Andrea Williams, Chair Education Review Committee – Barbara Blackard, Committee Facebook Committee – Sharla Derry, Chair Fundraising Committee – Elishia Duncan, Chair; Becky Walker Legislative Committee – Dena Malone, Chair Mentor Committee – Barbara Blackard, Chair Nominations & Election Committee – Diane Whitbey, Chair Scholarship Committee – Andrea Williams, Chair Website Committee – Katelyn Thomas/Denise Johnston, Co-Chairs

Diane Whitbey suggested that the chairs reach out to members to ask for people to serve on their committees. President Malone noted she would also send out an email. Whitbey suggested that Stacey Bennett serve on the Fundraising Committee and Kara Paxton serve on the Website Committee.

Unfinished Business

Tina Timmons noted that she needs to purchase gift cards but is waiting on the debit card to come in the mail. Diane Whitbey suggested going to Wal-Mart and paying by check.

Andrea Williams asked if the Batesville conference is still in person. Donna Smith stated that it is a hybrid conference.

Adjournment

There being no further business to come before the board, Diane Whitbey made a motion to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Barbara Blackard. The meeting was adjourned at 9:21 a.m.